Keyvisual SITE

EBS Best Paper Award 2020

Honoring outstanding scientific papers with high practical relevance on Innovation, (Corporate) Entrepreneurship and Transformation

For the 2020 Best-Paper-Award “Innovation, (Corporate) Entrepreneurship and Transformation”, we received a new record of 56 submissions. Out of those 56, the following winners were selected:

1st Place

Stephanie Querbach (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management), Miriam Bird (TUM Campus Heilbronn), Priscilla S. Kraft (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management), and Nadine Kammerlander (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management) with their article “When the Former CEO Stays on Board: The Role of the Predecessor’s Board Retention for Product Innovation in Family Firms”, which appeared in the “Journal of Product Innovation Management”.

2nd Place

Steven M. Gray (McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin), Andrew P. Knight (Olin Business School, Washington University in St. Louis), Markus Baer (Olin Business School, Washington University in St. Louis) for their comments on collective ownership. Their article “On the Emergence of Collective Psychological Ownership in New Creative Teams” was published in “Organization Science”.

3rd Place

Massimo Maoret (IESE Business School Barcelona), Marco Tortoriello (Bocconi University Milan), and Daniela Iubatti (SKEMA Business School, Université Côte d Azur) with their article “Big Fish, Big Pond? The joint Effect of formal and informal Core–Periphery Positions on the Generation of incremental Innovations”, which also appeared in “Organization Science”.

We thank all jury members (Dr. Stéphane Bonutto (Oerlikon), Dr. Andreas Brokemper (Henkell-Freixenet), Prof. Dr. Katrin Burmeister-Lamp (EBS), Prof. Dr. Christoph Fuchs (EBS, Siemens Advanta Consulting), Prof. Dr. Tobias Gutmann (EBS, Siemens Product Innovation Lab), Prof. Dr. Christian Landau (EBS), Marc Launer (Boeing), Prof. Dr. Christof Schimank (Horváth & Partners), and Prof. Dr. Matthias Waldkirch (EBS)) for their help in making this tough decision and of course all colleagues who submitted their work. It was a pleasure to read all these interesting papers.

We already look forward to next year’s BPA!

Katrin Burmeister-Lamp

Professor of Entrepreneurship

Group Speaker Entrepreneurship & Innovation

+49 611 7102 1347