back
Press

Whitepaper „Seizing the Potentials of Business Ecosystems“

14.07.2022

EBS, FIR and University of St. Gallen publish recommendations for value-adding collaboration in ecosystems.

The joint white paper "Seizing the Potentials of Ecosystems" by researchers from the EBS Universität für Wirtschaft und Recht, the FIR at RWTH Aachen University and the University of St. Gallen presents the core characteristics of business ecosystems based on the latest research findings and best practices. The team derives recommendations for sustainable competitive advantages.

Ecosystems represent new forms of value creation across company and industry boundaries. They are emerging in all industries and form the basis for the most valuable companies. Between 2015 and 2021, for example, 23% of all startups rated as "unicorns" (i.e., valued at more than $1 billion) had their business model significantly aligned with ecosystem value creation. At the same time, 22 of the S&P (Standard & Poor's.) Top 100 companies operated significantly in ecosystems, representing 40% of the S&P Top 100 market capitalization. Successful companies prove that both customers and companies benefit from ecosystems. The enormous potential for value creation is generating massive interest in this new way of doing business, but there is often a lack of common understanding about what ecosystems actually are and can do. An interdisciplinary team of researchers has therefore characterized the nature of ecosystems on the basis of three levels and a total of nine core properties:


Ecosystem Core

  1. Shared purpose and vision
  2. Co-creation between stakeholders
  3. Modular, complementary solutions

 

Ecosystem relationships

  1. Multilateral relationships
  2. Autonomous actors
  3. Information-based value creation


Ecosystem milieu

  1. Shared values
  2. Shared technological infrastructure
  3. Network effects


Based on this classification, the research team provides concrete recommendations in the white paper for achieving sustainable competitive advantages in the technological, social and economic environment in ecosystems. Best practices from experienced managers from established industrial companies and digital startups illustrate how the core characteristics of ecosystems are put into practice.

Download Whitepaper

Weitere News & Pressemitteilungen

Alle anzeigen

Contact Your request

Do you have a general request for us? Do not hesitate to send us a message via the form.

Contact to our schools


Rheingaustraße 1
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Germany
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Gustav-Stresemann-Ring 3
65189 Wiesbaden
Germany
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Hauptstraße 31
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Germany
+49 611 7102 00 info.es@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen

Order information material Order your information material here

Contact student counselling


+49 611 7102 1584
Monday - Thursday 09:00 - 12:00
Friday 10:00 - 12:00

Or you can use our registration form

Order free information material about our study programmes and find out more about:

  • Content of studies
  • Admission requirements
  • Tuition fees
  • Funding opportunities

zurück
Presse

Whitepaper „Seizing the Potentials of Business Ecosystems“

14.07.2022

EBS, FIR und Universität St. Gallen veröffentlichen Empfehlungen für wertschöpfende Zusammenarbeit in Ökosystemen.

Das gemeinsame Whitepaper „Seizing the Potentials of Ecosystems“ von Forscher:innen der EBS Universität für Wirtschaft und Recht, des FIR an der RWTH Aachen und der Universität St. Gallen präsentiert die Kerneigenschaften von Ökosystemen („Business Ecosystems“) auf Basis neuester Forschungsergebnisse und Best Practices. Das Team leitet daraus Empfehlungen für nachhaltige Wettbewerbsvorteile ab.

Ökosysteme repräsentieren neue Formen der Wertschöpfung über Firmen- und Industriegrenzen hinweg. Sie entstehen in allen Industrien und bilden die Grundlage für die wertvollsten Unternehmen. Zwischen 2015 und 2021 etwa hatten 23% aller als “Unicorn” (d.h., mit mehr als 1 Mrd. $) bewerteten Startups ihr Geschäftsmodell maßgeblich auf die Wertschöpfung in Ökosystemen ausgerichtet. Gleichzeitig operierten 22 der S&P (Standard & Poor‘s.) Top 100 Unternehmen maßgeblich in Ökosystemen, was einem Anteil von 40% der S&P Top 100 Marktkapitalisierung entsprach. Erfolgreiche Unternehmen beweisen, dass sowohl Kunden als auch Firmen von Ökosystemen profitieren. Das enorme Wertschöpfungspotenzial weckt massives Interesse an dieser neuen Form des Wirtschaftens, allerdings fehlt oft ein gemeinsames Verständnis darüber, was Ökosysteme tatsächlich sind und leisten können. Ein interdisziplinäres Team von Forscher*innen hat deshalb die Natur von Ökosystemen anhand von drei Ebenen und insgesamt neun Kerneigenschaften charakterisiert:

 

Ökosystem-Kern

  1. Geteilter Zweck und Vision
  2. Ko-Kreation zwischen beteiligten Akteuren
  3. Modulare, komplementäre Lösungen

 

Ökosystem-Beziehungen

  1. Multilaterale Beziehungen
  2. Autonome Akteure
  3. Informations-basierte Wertschöpfung


Ökosystem-Milieu

  1. Geteilte Werte
  2. Gemeinsame technologische Infrastruktur
  3. Netzwerk-Effekte


Basierend auf dieser Einteilung gibt das Forscher*innen-Team im Whitepaper konkrete Empfehlungen, um in Ökosystemen nachhaltige Wettbewerbsvorteile im technologischen, sozialen und ökonomischen Umfeld zu erzielen. Best Practices von erfahrenen Manager:innen aus etablierten Industrie-Unternehmen und digitalen Startups verdeutlichen, wie die Kerneigenschaften von Ökosystemen in die Praxis umgesetzt werden.

Download Whitepaper

Weitere News & Pressemitteilungen

Alle anzeigen

Kontakt Ihre Anliegen

Sie haben eine allgemeine Anfrage an uns? Lassen Sie uns gerne eine Nachricht über das Formular zukommen.

Kontakt zu unseren Schools


Rheingaustraße 1
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Gustav-Stresemann-Ring 3
65189 Wiesbaden
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Hauptstraße 31
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info.es@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen

Infomaterial bestellen Bestellen Sie Ihr Infomaterial

Kontakt Studienberatung


+49 611 7102 1584
Montag - Donnerstag 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Freitag 09:00 - 15:00 Uhr

Oder nutzen Sie unser Formular

Bestellen Sie kostenlos Infomaterial zu unseren Studiengängen und informieren Sie sich ganz unverbindlich über:

  • Studieninhalte
  • Zulassungsvoraussetzungen
  • Studiengebühren
  • Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten