Christof Hettich elected Chairman of the University Council of EBS Universität


EBS Universität has a new Chairman of the University Council: Prof. Dr. Christof Hettich, Chairman of the Board of the education and healthcare provider SRH, to which EBS belongs.


Christof Hettich was elected Chairman at the first constituent meeting following the new composition of the Council last November. Christof Hettich has been a member of the University Council since 2022 and has been instrumental in shaping the future of EBS. The strategic reorientation of EBS that he initiated was an important prerequisite for the prestigious AACSB accreditation - a distinction that only the world's best business schools receive. This was accompanied by excellent results in the Financial Times ranking, which further strengthened the international orientation of the university.

Hettich also supports the vision of a state-of-the-art campus in the historic castle of Oestrich-Winkel. The next phase of construction will be completed in summer 2025, when new seminar rooms and a new canteen will be opened.


Commitment to excellence and responsibility: Hettich's vision for EBS

"As Chairman of the University Council, I am very much looking forward to continuing to work on establishing EBS as a leading international university for business and law. The feedback from our students as well as the accreditations and rankings show us that we are on the right track. At the same time, I would like to express my sincere thanks to Dr Jörg-Uwe Hahn, who, as the previous Chairman, made a significant contribution to the establishment of our Law Faculty. As a shareholder, SRH and he personally will continue to support EBS students in their development into a modern, responsible management elite.

Günther H. Oettinger, President of EBS Universität and former Member of the European Commission, also expressed his delight at the election: "With Prof. Dr. Hettich we have gained an outstanding personality for the chairmanship of our University Council, who will shape the future of EBS with great commitment and expertise. His commitment and previous successes make us confident that EBS will achieve top results," said Oettinger.


Distinguished members of the University Council promote the University's competitiveness

The University Council, whose duties are laid down in the Hessian Higher Education Act, monitors the development of the University, articulates the expectations of the professional world towards the University and promotes the application of scientific knowledge. It is also responsible for proposing measures to raise the University's profile and enhance its performance and competitiveness.

The members of the University Council are Volker Bouffier, Prof Dr Roland Mattmüller, Prof Dr Andreas Altmann, Jan-Henrik Lafrentz, Dr Jörg-Uwe Hahn, Senator h.c. Udo J. Vetter, Dr Elisabeth Denison, MSc and Dr Klaus Lesker.


Your requests

Do you have a general request for us?

Do not hesitate to send us a message via the general contact form.

Do you have questions about studying at EBS?

Please use our study counseling form.


Do you have questions about our executive education programmes?

Feel free to contact the EBS Executive School team via email or via phone.

Contact to our schools

Rheingaustraße 1
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
+49 611 7102 00 Anfahrt planen

Gustav-Stresemann-Ring 3
65189 Wiesbaden
+49 611 7102 00 Anfahrt planen

Hauptstraße 31
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
+49611710200 Anfahrt planen

Order information material

Order your information material here

Order free information material about our study programmes and find out more about:

  • Content of studies
  • Admission requirements
  • Tuition fees
  • Funding opportunities