Boss. But different.

Yves Müller

Board member at Hugo Boss AG

Made by EBS.

An international focus, close cooperation with corporate partners from the business world and an extensive network that lasts a lifetime. Those are just three advantages of EBS Universität. Even more important to us, however, is teaching a strong set of values to guide people’s actions and educate the elite minds who will be in positions of responsibility in the future.

 

Yves Müller, who started out as a consultant at Tchibo before becoming a board member, has been guiding the fate of HUGO BOSS for six years. He considers empathy, reliability and trust to be the key qualities of a leader. And a guarantee of success is remaining true to yourself in an environment that thrives on having to permanently reinvent yourself.


What path did you take after graduating from EBS? What were the formative stages and moments along the way?  

I first spent 5 years at the auditing firm Arthur Andersen to get a solid basic education in finance after my studies. I then spent 18 years at Tchibo, including 12 years as CFO. As a family business, I was characterised by the entrepreneurial spirit and long-term orientation. I have been CFO/COO at Hugo Boss AG for around 6 years. Hugo Boss is globally orientated with its Boss and Hugo brands and is active on the capital market. To be successful in the fashion world, the company has to see itself as a "brand builder".


What does "leadership" mean to you personally and how do you put it into practice in your current role?

I would like to emphasise three things. Firstly, "leading by example". Never ask your employees to do something that you are not prepared to do yourself. As a CFO in particular, you sometimes have to make unpleasant decisions. "Hard in the matter, soft in the heart (empathy)" is a maxim that has guided me in my leadership principles. And the third is trust. I am convinced that you have to trust your employees. This way, decisions are made much more quickly (even in a corporate group).

 

The EBS promise is "We empower leaders to make a difference in the world" - how do you make a difference in the world?

First of all, I want to be successful for the company I work for. In today's world - and that's a good thing - we as a company need to put sustainability at the centre of our strategy. This is because we are convinced that only sustainable companies can be successful in the long term. At Hugo Boss, we set up a foundation a year ago, among other things.


What did you learn / take away from EBS that has been particularly helpful in your later professional life?

First of all, I think it's worth mentioning that I made very close friends at EBS. The network is also incredibly strong. The semesters abroad were very formative and inspiring. EBS has something of a "boarding business school" feel to it. I have very fond memories of these 4 years.


By playing this video, YouTube may save personal data such as your IP address.

The EBS promise

Founded in 1971, EBS Universität is the oldest private business university in Germany. It is renowned for its excellent education in the fields of business and law. Besides bachelor's degree programmes, it offers numerous master's degree programmes. EBS not only imparts the best knowledge to its students using the latest methods, but also particularly focuses on nurturing the development of strong personalities – always with the aim of educating the leaders of tomorrow.

Study at EBS

Our study programmes

Whether you are interested in business or law. The EBS Universität offers you a wide range of excellent study opportunities at EBS Business School and EBS Law School.

Business Law
Contact

Your requests

Do you have a general request for us?

Do not hesitate to send us a message via the general contact form.


Do you have questions about studying at EBS?

Please use our study counseling form.

 

Do you have questions about our executive education programmes?

Feel free to contact the EBS Executive School team.

Contact to our schools


Rheingaustraße 1
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Germany
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Gustav-Stresemann-Ring 3
65189 Wiesbaden
Germany
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Hauptstraße 31
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Germany
+49611710200 info.es@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen

Order information material

Order your information material here

Order free information material about our study programmes and find out more about:

  • Content of studies
  • Admission requirements
  • Tuition fees
  • Funding opportunities

Boss. But different.

Yves Müller

Vorstandsmitglied bei Hugo Boss AG

Made by EBS.

Ein internationaler Fokus, enge Kooperation mit Unternehmenspartnern aus der Wirtschaft und ein großes Netzwerk, das ein Leben lang hält. Das sind drei Vorteile der EBS Universität. Noch wichtiger ist uns jedoch die Vermittlung eines starken Wertegerüsts, das das Handeln leitet und so die Verantwortungselite der Zukunft ausbildet.

 

Yves Müller, der erst Consultant, dann Vorstand bei Tchibo war, leitet jetzt seit sechs Jahren die Geschicke von HUGO BOSS. Für ihn sind Empathie, Beständigkeit und Vertrauen die Grundpfeiler einer Führungspersönlichkeit. Und ein Erfolgsgarant ist, sich selbst treu zu bleiben in einem Umfeld, das davon lebt, sich permanent neu zu erfinden.

 

 


Welchen Weg sind Sie nach ihrem Abschluss an der EBS gegangen? Was waren prägende Stationen und Momente auf diesem Weg?  

Ich war zunächst 5 Jahre bei der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Arthur Andersen, um erst einmal eine solide Grundausbildung nach dem Studium in Finanzfragen zu erhalten. Danach war ich 18 Jahre bei Tchibo, davon 12 Jahre als Finanzvorstand. Als Familienunternehmen hat mich hier der Unternehmergeist und die langfristige Orientierung geprägt. Seit ca. 6 Jahren bin ich CFO/COO bei der Hugo Boss AG. Hugo Boss ist mit seinen Marken Boss und Hugo global ausgerichtet und am Kapitalmarkt tätig. Um in der Modewelt erfolgreich zu sein, muss sich das Unternehmen als „Brand Builder“ verstehen.

 

Was bedeutet „Leadership“ für Sie persönlich und wie setzen Sie es in Ihrer derzeitigen Funktion um?

Hierzu würde ich gerne drei Dinge herausstellen. Als erstes „Führen durch Vorbild“. Verlange nie etwas von Deinem Mitarbeiter, wozu man selbst nicht bereit wäre. Gerade als Finanzvorstand muss man auch mal unangenehme Dinge entscheiden. „Hart in der Sache, weich im Herzen (Empathie)“ ist eine Maxime, die mich bei meinen Führungsprinzipien geleitet hat. Und das Dritte ist Trust. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass man seinen Mitarbeitern vertrauen muss. Auf diese Weise werden Entscheidungen (auch in einem Konzern) viel schneller getroffen.

 

Das Versprechen der EBS lautet „We empower leaders to make a difference in the world“ - wie machen Sie einen Unterschied in der Welt?

Zunächst einmal möchte ich für das Unternehmen, für das ich arbeite, erfolgreich sein. In der heutigen Welt - und das ist gut so - müssen wir als Unternehmen das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in den Mittelpunkt der Strategie nehmen. Und das aus der Überzeugung, dass nur nachhaltige Unternehmen langfristig erfolgreich sein können. Bei Hugo Boss haben wir u.a. vor einem Jahr eine Stiftung gegründet.

 

Was haben Sie an der EBS gelernt / mitgenommen, das Ihnen im späteren Berufsleben besonders geholfen hat?

Erst einmal finde ich es erwähnenswert, dass sich an der EBS sehr intensive Freundschaften ergeben haben. Das Netzwerk ist darüber hinaus unglaublich stark. Die Auslandssemester waren sehr prägend und inspirierend. Die EBS hat etwas von einer „Boarding Business School“. Ich habe sehr schöne Erinnerungen an diese 4 Jahre.


Durch die Wiedergabe dieses Videos speichert YouTube möglicherweise persönliche Daten, wie Ihre IP-Adresse.

Das Versprechen der EBS

Die 1971 gegründete EBS Universität ist die älteste private Wirtschaftsuniversität Deutschlands. Sie ist bekannt für ihre exzellente Ausbildung in den Bereichen Wirtschaft und Recht. Neben Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen bietet sie zahlreiche Weiterbildungsprogramme an. Die EBS vermittelt ihren Studierenden nicht nur bestes Wissen mit modernsten Methoden, sondern fördert insbesondere die Entwicklung einer starken Persönlichkeit. Immer mit dem Anspruch, die Führungskräfte von morgen auszubilden.

Studieren an der EBS

Unsere Studienprogramme

Egal, ob Sie sich für Wirtschaft oder Recht interessieren. Die EBS Universität bietet Ihnen an der EBS Business School, der EBS Law School und der EBS Executive School eine Vielzahl exzellenter Studien- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten.

BWL Jura Weiterbildung
Kontakt

Ihre Anliegen

Sie haben eine allgemeine Anfrage an uns?

Lassen Sie uns gerne eine Nachricht über das allgemeine Kontaktformular zukommen.

 

Sie haben Fragen rund um das Thema Studium an der EBS?

Nutzen Sie bitte unser Formular der Studienberatung.

 

Sie haben Fragen zu unseren Weiterbildungsprogrammen?

Treten Sie gerne mit dem Team der EBS Executive School in Kontakt.

Kontakt zu unseren Schools


Rheingaustraße 1
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Gustav-Stresemann-Ring 3
65189 Wiesbaden
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen


Hauptstraße 31
65375 Oestrich-Winkel
Deutschland
+49 611 7102 00 info.es@ebs.edu Anfahrt planen

Infomaterial bestellen

Bestellen Sie Ihr Infomaterial

Bestellen Sie kostenlos Infomaterial zu unseren Studiengängen und informieren Sie sich ganz unverbindlich über:

  • Studieninhalte
  • Zulassungsvoraussetzungen
  • Studiengebühren
  • Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten