Keyvisual SITE

Best-Paper-Award “Innovation Management” 2018

Honoring Excellence in Research at the venerable Sektkellerei Henkell

Since 2006, the Best-Paper-Award „Innovation Management“ annually honors outstanding scientific papers on Innovation, Transformation and Technology Management. Focusing on both cutting-edge research and high practical relevance, awarded papers provide state-of-the-art insights for academics and practitioners equally.

The award is endowed with prize money totaling € 3,500.

Selection Procedure

Papers submitted must have been accepted in a scientific journal after July 1st, 2017, and must not have been submitted to past Best-Paper-Awards. Submissions are assessed by the jury with regards to scientific excellence and practical relevance. The authors of the three most outstanding papers are invited to present their work on November 22rd, 2018 at the at the Sektkellerei Henkell, Wiesbaden in Germany. Evaluating both presentation and discussion, the jury will nominate the winner.

Submission Deadline: September 1, 2018

Jury Members

  • Stéphane Bonutto (Oerlikon)
  • Dr. Andreas Brokemper (Henkell & Co. Sektkellerei KG)
  • Jan Brückmann (Emirates)
  • Dr. Mike Dietrich (Oerlikon)
  • Prof. Dr. Ronald Gleich (EBS Business School, Oestrich-Winkel)
  • Volker Greiner (Emirates)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Landau (EBS Business School, Oestrich-Winkel)
  • Marc Launer (Boing)
  • Prof. Dr. Christof Schimank (Horváth & Partners)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Wald (School of Business and Law, University of Agder)

Assessment Criteria

  • Innovativeness of the research
  • Market and adaptation potential for practitioners


The best three papers will be awarded with:

  • 1st prize: € 1,500
  • 2nd prize: € 1,250
  • 3rd prize: € 750

How to Participate?

The application form can be downloaded here.

Applications can be submitted only via e-mail to

Past years’ winners

  • 2017: Evgeny Kagan, Stephen Leider and William S. Lovejoy (University of Michigan): „Ideation-Execution Transition in Product Development: An Experimental Analysis“, Management Science.
  • 2016: Thorsten Grohsjean (Bocconi University, Italy) and his co-authors Paola Criscuolo (Imperial College London, UK), Linus Dahlander (ESMT European School of Management and Technology, Germany) and Ammon Salter (University of Bath, UK): „Evaluating novelty: The role of panels in the selection of R&D projects”, Academy of Management Journal
  • 2015: Paolo Aversa (Cass Business School) and his co-authors Alessandro Marino (LUISS University Rome), Luiz Mesquita (Arizona State University), & Jay Anand (Ohio State University): „Driving performance via exploration in changing environments: Evidence from Formula One racing“, Organization Science
  • 2014: Marion Poetz (Copenhagen Business School), Nikolaus Franke (WU Vienna) & Martin Schreier (WU Vienna): “Integrating Problem Solvers from Analogous Markets in New Product Ideation”, Management Science
  • 2013: Gautam Ahuja, Curba Morris Lampert & Elena Novelli (University of Michigan, Florida International University, City University London): “The second face of appropriability: Generative appropriability and its determinants”, Academy of Management Review
Katrin Burmeister-Lamp
Professorship of Entrepreneurship
+49 611 7102 1347
+49 611 7102 10 1347
Burgstraße 5
65375 Oestrich-Winkel